Unit 1

Promotional Video Research 2.3.1

Planning my questionnaire:

When i was planning my questionnaire i thought about the things i needed to know about my peers for making my video, this is because i want to make sure i target my audience correctly and intrest them in the things they find most interesting or know little about.

Here is a link to the questionnaire about kelham island:

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/GKRFGP3

 

secondary research for kalhem island:

info.PNG

 

Capture 1.PNG

Sheffield Industrial Museums Trust (SIMT) aims to make your visit as enjoyable and inclusive as possible.

The Trust operates three sites: Kelham Island Museum, Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet and Shepherd Wheel. Our displays and facilities enable everyone to enjoy and learn about Sheffield’s industrial heritage.

Balancing the needs of people who have a range of disabilities with the conservation of the old industrial buildings is a challenge and although we cannot provide access for every visitor to every part of all our sites, we feel confident that there are opportunities for everyone.

As well as improving physical access to the museums, we aim to provide thoughtful inclusive information and interpretation to enhance the experience for everyone, this includes: .

  • SIMT staff and volunteers receiving disability awareness and equality training as part of an ongoing approach to inclusive access
  • SIMT’s Inclusive Access Forum made up of people with a direct knowledge of disability, an interest in heritage and a commitment to access for all. The Forum advises SIMT about access to the services and facilities that the museums offer. For information about the Forum or to join, please contact us at ask@simt.co.uk
  • Our website and other information services have been designed in consultation with people with a range of impairments and communication needs to provide an accessible and useable service. If you can provide additional advice or feedback to help us continually improve
  • A fair Pricing Policy – when a disabled person visits with an assistant the assistant will not be charged an entry fee to our museums and heritage sites

Links to further information about accessibility at each of our sites and to help you plan your visit can be found on the right of the page. We have also listed information on www.euansguide.com.

http://www.simt.co.uk/accessibility

The results to my questionnaire:

q1.PNG

From this question I released that both female and male students answered my survey, this helps me decide who to target my audience at and how i should record my video.

q2.PNG

From this question I released that I have a wide range of different ages in my class, this shows that i will have to target both ages successfully to target my audience I can do this by choosing my music carefully and changing the pace of my editing depending on the age i target my video at.

q3.PNG

From this question I released that I need to interest my audience and make sure they are intrigued by my work and feel motivated to go.

q4.PNG

From this question I released that I don’t need to say so much about the museum its self but more about what it has to offer and how its different from other museums.

q5.PNG

From this question I released that i need to talk about the newer things in the museum and talk about how its changed and worth another visit, this is because the people who answered my questions had already been.

q6.PNG

From this question I released that they want to know about two of the bigger things within the museum which helps me when i record my video.

q7.PNG

From this question I released that i need to show why its this much money and persuade them to visit kelham island even though its quite expensive for what it has to offer.

q8.PNG

From this question I released that one of the people still think you should pay to visit and the other thinks it should be free, yet again this means i have to show that the price for the museum is worth the visit.

q9.PNG

From this question I released that i need to show more about the location and information about the museum over everything else I’m going to show.

 

 

This would of been improved if  more people answered my questions as only 2 people answered these and it doesn’t make me compare my results in anyway because they answer all mostly one or the other or the same answer.

But the open ended questions didn’t give much more ether, as they was only one or two worded answers which doesn’t give me much of a different idea to the selected answers.

I could of changed the way i worded the question to make it seem more like they needed to answer in more detail but i think i already did that.

The information i got from this however, was useful. this is because i now know that people want to know about the location and information about the museum where as i thought they would be more interested in the cost, they also thing that it costs too much money altogether and wish the price to be lowered if not taken down completely and made it free to go and look around.

Planning my voxpop:

When me Emma and Lucy was planning the voxpop we wrote down questions and then decided which ones were the best to ask, this made them more effective and got us the best answers.

this is the video:

the things i like about the video, is that its good quality and the sound is good. the only thing i would change about it would be if we had more time to plan and reword the questions so the people being interviewed knew what we was asking and was aware that the questions were about kelham island museum.

 

All of this has helped me come up with some sort of idea of how to target my peers and advertise kelham island museum, because now i know what sort of things they want to see and what interests them and doesn’t interest them.

 

When recording the promotional video i took on the job role; Camera Operator, i think i did well at getting the correct camera angles and footage. The skills i used when doing this job role was aperture and off center focus this helped me get nice pieces of film that the viewers found interesting.

The audio recording didn’t work, so we didn’t do any of it. instead me Emma and Lucy discussed that not putting any audio into it was a good idea and instead have music playing in the background.

When i edited it at the end, i wanted to make sure that the video was going with the music and therefore edited to the music, creating an eye catching promotional video. I chose to edit that way because i know myself that if i didn’t edit it in the time of the music it would look messy, rushed and nonprofessional.

 

Before filming, I asked for permission before hand.  They told me it was okay as long as i didn’t record people who i hadn’t got permission from such as visitors, i was given a jacket saying i was camera crew so the visitors knew why i was recording and didn’t bother them to much.

 

My group didn’t really work together, i felt like i was doing most of the work, as Emma and Lucy staid put and watched me film. but talking as in job roles it wasn’t like they had much of a task to begin with, as there was nothing to do other then record and sound record which we didn’t have the access to out at the museum, this was mostly because our instructions didn’t involve interviewing or speaking with anyone.

Altogether, our video was OK, but in my honest opinion i feel like i could improve it if i was to rerecord the whole thing and start again.

The questions I asked were:
Have you heard of kelham island?

The reason why i asked this is because its important to know if they have heard of the place or been there before, this helped me decide whether to put the newer information into the video or just facts about it. Knowing if they have heard of it or not was important because if they hadn’t I needed to say where about it is and how to get there.

What things would you like to see in our promotional video?

I asked this because if they had been to the museum, I wanted to know what they thought was a good idea to include, for example anything they found that stands out about it and want to share with other visitors, this question was also asked because if they had never been to the museum they might want to know certain things about it, for example: how much it costs and how old is it.

What motivates you to go and visit kelham island?

Again, this was to get a personal view on what they thought, this was so I include interesting things other people found entertaining to grab their attention, this was also so I could purposely go and record the parts of the museum people find the most interesting. This question also meant I  could quote their opinions in my video.

Have you ever been to the museum?

I asked this because I felt like it was important to know if they had visited it and if they did how long ago, this was so i could get a general idea of what percentage of teenagers/ young adults visited.

Would you recommend it to a friend or family member? if yes, why?

this was to see if people thought it was the type of thing a family would do together or a group of friends instead of going alone.

All of this Video Research helped because…

I now have a clear understanding of what i should put into my video and what to focus on the most and i have changed my original plan slightly to help target my audience more successfully.

2 thoughts on “Promotional Video Research 2.3.1

  1. You have evaluated the voxpop but not summed up the answers that you were given. Can you watch the VP and make notes on the responses and cum these up e.g. how may people out of the people you interviewed have been to Kelham Island? Also you need to explain how all this research has helped you when going out to film? What ideas did you think of, what will you now include in your film?

    Like

Leave a comment